The Road Goes Ever On and On

road goes ever ever on

The Road goes ever on and on
Down from the door where it began.
Now far ahead the Road has gone,
And I must follow, if I can,
Pursuing it with weary feet,
Until it joins some larger way
Where many paths and errands meet.
And whither then? I cannot say.
– J.R.R Tolkien

I’m leaving for Spain and I feel as though I’m coming unlocked from this existence. Travelling for a month, the longest sustained period of time I’ve been out of the country, I’ll be living without my room and my kitchen. I haven’t travelled on my own for a little while. I can’t wait to go and explore different cities, meet new people, turn corners onto fresh sights…

Living a different life reminds me that there are no rules for any of the lives we live. Becoming locked into one place, a group of people, a city your feet can walk without input from you, locks you into a way of thinking, a way of doing. Travel, surprise, exploration. New experiences to challenge me, new people to question me, the endless horizon…

I’m going to be gone until the 9th of March. Only a couple of hours ago I rendered my netbook entirely useless. I have scheduled a posts for the next couple of weeks, but there might be a quiet period between then and me getting back. DON’T FRET! When I get back there will be plenty more haphazard ranting, de-railed trains of thought and lens-flare happy photographs.

Adios!

Amelia

Leave a Reply

